15 DECEMBER 2017 (Toronto, ON) – After much anticipation, the original motion picture soundtrack for Star Wars: The Last Jedi arrives today via Walt Disney Records/Universal Music Canada, the country’s leading music company. Available to stream/purchase online now, the soundtrack features a new score conducted and composed by five-time Academy Award®-winning composer John Williams. Lucasfilm and director Rian Johnson join forces as Star Wars returns to the big screen, with Star Wars: The Last Jedi, in theatres globally today.
Oscar®-winning composer John Williams’ ubiquitous Star Wars “Main Title” theme has become part of popular culture since it was first heard accompanying Star Wars: A New Hope in 1977. It is no surprise that Williams’ orchestral compositions for Star Wars are among the most beloved and recognizable themes in cinematic history, from the classic “Main Title” theme introduced in Star Wars: A New Hope, to the ominous “Imperial March”, from Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back, to the stirring “Duel of the Fates”, from the prequel trilogy.
After creating the scores for the seven previous Star Wars films, Williams returns to compose and conduct his signature sweeping music for Star Wars: The Last Jedi.
Recorded in Los Angeles, Williams worked on The Last Jedi score with members of the highly regarded freelance orchestra with which he’s recorded numerous film scores over the years. The music for The Last Jedi was recorded over several months while working in tandem with the film’s editorial and special effects teams on the West Coast.
As with Star Wars: The Force Awakens, audiences can expect to hear quotations from earlier Star Wars themes.  For Williams, incorporating the previous themes is part of the fun of scoring the Star Wars movies and helps create what he calls “the fabric of the films.”
As with previous Star Wars films, many of the characters have their own musical themes. “Rey has a theme, Kylo Ren has a theme, Finn has one, Rose has one,” Williams explains. “These thematic elements infuse the whole score and are part of what moves the film along, giving its sonic outline.  In the Star Wars films, the orchestra can be as extrovert as it wants to be at given times, so it really becomes a big part of the fun and imagination of it all.”
In Lucasfilm’s Star Wars: The Last Jedi, the Skywalker saga continues as the heroes of The Force Awakens join the galactic legends in an epic adventure that unlocks age-old mysteries of the Force and shocking revelations of the past.
The film stars Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher, Adam Driver, Daisy Ridley, John Boyega, Oscar Isaac, Lupita Nyong’o, Andy Serkis, Domhnall Gleeson, Anthony Daniels, Gwendoline Christie, Kelly Marie Tran, Laura Dern and Benicio Del Toro.
Star Wars: The Last Jedi is written and directed by Rian Johnson and produced by Kathleen Kennedy and Ram Bergman. J.J. Abrams, Tom Karnowski and Jason McGatlin are the executive producers.
For more information:
Track Listing:
  1. Main Title and Escape
  2. Ahch-To Island
  3. Revisiting Snoke
  4. The Supremacy
  5. Fun With Finn and Rose
  6. Old Friends
  7. The Rebellion Is Reborn
  8. Lesson One
  9. Canto Bight
  10. Who Are You?
  11. The Fathiers
  12. The Cave
  13. The Sacred Jedi Texts
  14. A New Alliance
  15. “Chrome Dome”
  16. The Battle of Crait
  17. The Spark
  18. The Last Jedi
  19. Peace and Purpose
  20. Finale
fuapoipgds photo z_Classic.jpg

Aussie Osbourne Show

Popular Stories