SANTA MONICA, CALIF. (JUNE 1, 2022) — The Recording Academy® has elected 19 new leaders of diverse backgrounds and disciplines to add to its 2022-23 National Board of Trustees. Effective today, the newly elected Trustees join the Academy's midterm Trustees, including National Officers Tammy Hurt (Chair), Rico Love (Vice Chair), Om'Mas Keith (Secretary/Treasurer), and Christine Albert (Chair Emeritus) in upholding the Academy's mission to serve and represent the music community at-large. In partnership with CEO Harvey Mason jr., the Board of Trustees helps strategically guide and shape the mission and policies of the Academy and its commitment to promote diversity, equity and inclusion, fight for creators' rights, protect music people in need, preserve music's history, and invest in its future.


Yolanda Adams*

Ferddy Calderon

David Gross

Mike Knobloch*

Chuck Ainlay*

Alex E. Chávez*

Jordan Hamlin*

John Legend*

Cheche Alara

Dave Cobb

Jennifer Hanson

Rico Love

Christine Albert

Beth Cohen

David "Swagg" Harris

Susan Marshall

Maria Elisa Ayerbe

Samantha Cox

Tammy Hurt

Julia Michels

Nabil Ayers*

Doug Emery*

J. Ivy

PJ Morton*

Larry Batiste

Anna Frick

Terry Jones*

Natalia Ramírez*

Marcus Baylor

EJ Gaines*

Andrew Joslyn*

Michael Romanowski*

Jennifer Blakeman*

Kennard Garrett

Om'Mas Keith

Von Vargas*

Evan Bogart

Tracy Gershon

Thom "TK" Kidd*

Gebre Waddell*

Bun B

Chelsey Green*

Angélique Kidjo


*Identifies Trustees elected this year to their 1st or 2nd term.

Bold identifies National Officers.

"I'm honored and excited to welcome this diverse and accomplished group of creatives to the Academy's leadership team," said Mason. "These newly elected leaders will be instrumental in continuing the Academy's transformation by serving as representatives for their peers on all things from refining the GRAMMY Awards® process, to advocating for creators' rights and beyond. We thank the Academy members who participated in this year's elections and look forward to the continued progress that this esteemed group of Trustees will achieve."

"I can't wait to work alongside this stellar group of leaders as we continue to build on the Academy's progress these past two years," said Hurt. "Our Board reflects the diverse music community we represent, and I know these talented minds will help expertly guide the organization with music creators' best interests at heart."

Recording Academy members play a key role in shaping the next generation of the organization's leaders on a local and national level. Each year, the Academy's 12 Chapters' Voting and Professional Members vote in their respective Chapter Board Elections to elect their Chapter's Governors. Of the Trustees that serve on the National Board, eight are elected by Voting and Professional Members of the Academy (four each year) and 30 are elected by the Chapter Boards (15 each year). The remaining four seats are comprised of the National Trustee Officers serving the roles of Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary/Treasurer, and Chair Emeritus, who are currently midterm, and are elected by the Board of Trustees once every two years. All positions on the Board of Trustees are subject to two, two-year term limits.

fuapoipgds photo z_Classic.jpg

Aussie Osbourne Show

Popular Stories