New Album Wildness Out On May 25, Their First In Seven Years
12 APRIL 2018 (Toronto, ON) – Scottish rock band, Snow Patrol unveil the brand-new song, “Life On Earth”, from their forthcoming album Wildness, slated to release on May 25 via Polydor Records/Universal Music Canada, the country’s leading music company. The album marks the band’s first record in seven years. Coinciding with the release of the new single, is the debut of the “Life On Earth” music video. Shot at the European Space Agency in Holland, the video was premiered today by British Astronaut Tim Peake. Watch the video below.
Last night, the band performed their first live show since August 2013, at London’s Islington Assembly Hall. The band has upcoming sold-out performances in New York City and Los Angeles in April and throughout Ireland & the UK in May. Full list of tour dates and additional information available online at
The band is also set to release a special limited edition 10” LP version of “Don’t Give In”, backed with “Life On Earth”, for Record Store Day on April 21.
Most recently, the band premiered the lead single from Wildness, “Don’t Give In”. Concurrently, they went on to debut the accompanying music video for the track, available to view online now.
Wildness taps into something raw and primitive. The record finds the band searching for clarity, connection, and meaning, while staying true to the melodic songwriting prowess that brought them to prominence. Lead-singer and songwriter Gary Lightbody says of the album, “There are many types of wildness, but I think it can be distilled into two: the wildness of the modern age, all its confusion, illogic and alienation and a more ancient wildness. Something primal, alive and beautiful that speaks to our true connectivity, our passion, our love, our communion with nature and each other. This is the kind of wildness the album is centered around. The loss of it. Trying to reconnect with it. To remember it.” Watch the album trailer for Snow Patrol’s Wildness here.
Since their 1998 debut, Songs for Polarbears, Snow Patrol have racked up an impressive number of critical and commercial accolades, including 15M global album sales, over 1B global track streams, five UK platinum albums, and a Grammy, BRIT Award and Mercury Music Prize nomination. After their Fallen Empires tour ended in 2012, the band members —which also include multi-instrumentalist Johnny McDaid, guitarist Nathan Connolly, bassist Paul Wilson, and drummer Jonny Quinn — decided to take a step back from the band, and focus on their own projects. Gary Lightbody continued his work with his Tired Pony side project with members of Belle and Sebastian, R.E.M, Reindeer Section and Fresh Young Fellows and moved to Los Angeles to begin writing songs for movies (including “This Is How You Walk On” for 2017’s Gifted), and doing a number of high-profile co-writes with Ed Sheeran, Taylor Swift, Biffy Clyro, and One Direction. Taking this extended break from Snow Patrol proved to be a source of inspiration and writing songs that were not pulled directly from his own psyche helped heal what Lightbody considered to be not so much writer’s block as life block.
It’s in this search for clarity and connection that these songs were written and refined. “I think it’s the first record I’ve ever written that I haven’t just asked a bunch of questions. I actually tried to figure out why I was unhappy, why I feel out of place, why I’m afraid,” says Lightbody. “There’s nothing really to protect myself for– it’s all in the album. I want to remember.” This impulse was partially inspired by Lightbody’s father, who is suffering from dementia. I think the album is defined by memory in a lot of ways,” says Lightbody, “including my father’s loss of memory.”
“Seamus Heaney, my favorite poet of all time, said at 71 that he was only discovering what some of his poetry means, and this is coming from a Nobel Prize-winning poet. It’s a great testament to inspiration,” says Lightbody. “Sometimes it takes you five years to write the thing. Like now. And you know for sure when you finish an album like that, where you’ve poured over every detail and put every atom of yourself into it, everything makes sense and I bet you I’m never not proud of this record.”
Wildness – Track Listing
  1. Life On Earth
  2. Don’t Give In
  3. Heal Me
  4. Empress
  5. A Dark Switch
  6. What If This Is All The Love You Ever Get?
  7. A Youth Written In Fire
  8. Soon
  9. Wild Horses
  10. Life And Death
fuapoipgds photo z_Classic.jpg

Aussie Osbourne Show

Popular Stories