December 08 2016


Six-Disc Collection Highlights The Influential Music The Band Recorded
Between 1985 And 1996 As The Group Launches An Extensive European Tour

Available From Rhino On January 27

LOS ANGELES – Sepultura recorded a series of albums for Roadrunner Records that had a major influence on heavy metal music throughout the Eighties and Nineties. Founded in Brazil by brothers Max and Igor Cavalera, the band was hailed by fans and critics alike for its ever-evolving sound on a string of classic albums that have sold millions worldwide.

THE ROADRUNNER ALBUMS 1985-1996 will be released on January 27 as a six-CD set. The collection will also be released on vinyl as a six-LP set with each album pressed in a different color.

The collection combines Sepultura’s debut EP Bestial Devastation with the group’s first six studio albums: Morbid Visions (1986), Schizophrenia (1987), Beneath The Remains (1989), Arise (1991), Chaos A.D. (1993), and Roots (1996).

THE ROADRUNNER ALBUMS 1985-1996 retraces the band’s evolution over 11 years with a potent mix of aggression and groove. It begins with the 1985 EP Bestial Devastation. Those five songs would later be reissued as bonus tracks on Sepultura’s full-length debut, Morbid Visions. That album featured the hit “Troops of Doom,” a song that would become a mainstay in the band’s live shows for years to come.

Guitarist Andreas Kisser joined bassist Paulo Jr. and the Cavalera brothers on 1987’s Schizophrenia, an album that added thrash metal to the band’s black metal roots. Those sounds crystallized on the next album, Beneath the Remains, which is regarded today as a thrash metal classic. The string of strong albums continued in 1991 with Arise. It includes the fan favorite “Dead Embryonic Cells” and has been certified platinum based on worldwide sales.

On the final two albums included in THE ROADRUNNER ALBUMS 1985-1996, Sepultura emphasized rhythmic exploration. With 1993’s Chaos A.D., the group embraced groove metal, especially on the first single, “Refuse/Resist.” On Roots, Sepultura was deeply influenced by Brazilian rhythms, incorporating them into signature tracks like “Itsári” and “Ratamahatta.” Since its release in 1996, the album has sold more than two million copies worldwide.

Album and Track Listing

Morbid Visions/Bestial Devastation (1985/1986)
  1. “Morbid Visions”
  2. “Mayhem”
  3. “Troops Of Doom”
  4. “War”
  5. “Crucifixion”
  6. “Show Me The Wrath”
  7. “Funeral Rites”
  8. “Empire Of The Damned”
  9. “The Curse”
  10. “Bestial Devastation”
  11. “Antichrist”
  12. “Necromancer”
  13. “Warriors Of Death”

Schizophrenia (1987)
  1. “Intro”
  2. “From The Past Comes The Storms”
  3. “To The Wall”
  4. “Escape To The Void”
  5. “Inquisition Symphony”
  6. “Screams Behind The Shadows”
  7. “Septic Schizo”
  8. “The Abyss”
  9. “R.I.P. (Rest In Pain)”
  10. “Troops Of Doom” (Bonus Track)

Beneath The Remains (1989)
  1. “Beneath The Remains”
  2. “Inner Self”
  3. “Stronger Than Hate”
  4. “Mass Hypnosis”
  5. “Sarcastic Existence”
  6. “Slaves Of Pain”
  7. “Lobotomy”
  8. “Hungry”
  9. “Primitive Future”

Arise (1991)
  1. “Arise”
  2. “Dead Embryonic Cells”
  3. “Desperate Cry”
  4. “Murder”
  5. “Subtraction”
  6. “Altered State”
  7. “Under Siege (Regnum Irae)”
  8. “Meaningless Movements”
  9. “Infected Voice”

Chaos A.D. (1993)
  1. “Refuse/Resist”
  2. “Territory”
  3. “Slave New World”
  4. “Amen”
  5. “Kaiowas”
  6. “Propaganda”
  7. “Biotech Is Godzilla”
  8. “Nomad”
  9. “We Who Are Not As Others”
  10. “Manifest”
  11. “The Hunt”
  12. “Clenched Fist”

Roots (1996)
  1. “Roots Bloody Roots”
  2. “Attitude”
  3. “Cut-Throat”
  4. “Ratamahatta”
  5. “Breed Apart”
  6. “Straighthate”
  7. “Spit”
  8. “Lookaway”
  9. “Dusted”
  10. “Born Stubborn”
  11. “Jasco”
  12. “Itsári”
  13. “Ambush”
  14. “Endangered Species”
  15. “Dictatorshit”
fuapoipgds photo z_Classic.jpg

Aussie Osbourne Show

Popular Stories